Music Reviews

Shenandoah – Reloaded


It’s a rare treat in country music these days when you hear something fresh and new that instantly sounds familiar and takes you back to the music you grew up on. It is even rarer when that new music is by a country group that started more than 30 years ago and has not released a new album in 20 years.

The band Shenandoah is back and all I can say is, it’s about time.

The country artists of the 90’s had a style and sound that was unique and instantly identifiable. They focused on writing great songs, learning to play their instruments and singing great harmonies. Listening to their new song, “Noise” from the upcoming release, Reloaded, you are instantly reminded of what made the band Shenandoah one of the top country bands of that era.

Reloaded combines some of the band’s greatest hits with new original songs that will surely please their existing fans and help attract many new fans to this award winning band. When it came time to release this album, the band didn’t just want to release existing recording of some of their best songs, they chose to record some shows that would showcase their revitalized energy and fresh sound.

Reloaded includes nine of their classic hits performed live, as well as three new studio tracks. These new tracks mark the first new studio recordings with Marty Raybon singing lead since he rejoined the group.

All of the Shenandoah favorites are included on Reloaded including “Next To You, Next To Me,” “Church on Cumberland Road,” and “If Bubba Can Dance…” but are given a fresh sound with their new live recordings and instrumentation.

The first single, “Noise,” was written by Nashville songwriting greats, Gordie Sampson, Jim McCormick and Radney Foster. It is a great song based around a strong melody and showcases the harmony vocals that made Shenandoah famous with numerous awards and top ten hits.

Many of today’s country artist pay tribute to some of the great 90’s country bands during their concerts. It’s great to see that one of the original – and best bands of that era – are back winning new fans and making music better than ever.

Reloaded track listing:

1. “Next To You, Next To Me” (Live)
2. “If Bubba Can Dance, I Can Too” (Live)
3. “The Moon Over Georgia” (Live)
4. “Mama Knows” (Live)
5. “Sunday In The South” (Live)
6. “I Want To Be Loved Like That” (Live)
7. “Ghost In This House” (Live)
8. “Two Dozen Roses” (Live)
9. “The Church on Cumberland Road” (Live)
10. “Noise”
11. “That’s Where I Grew Up”
12. “Little Bit of Livin'”