Country Chatter

2020 CMA Award: Full List of Nominees (and Winners)


The nominations for the 54th Annual CMA Awards were revealed Tuesday (Sept. 1) with Miranda Lambert, Luke Combs, and Maren Morris leading the way.

Combs, Carly Pearce, Gabby Barrett, and Ingrid Andress announced the nominees on Good Morning America on Tuesday morning (September 1), with each announcer receiving respective nods themselves.

Lambert is this year’s frontrunner at the biggest night in country music with seven nominations, including Entertainer of the Year, Female Vocalist of the Year, and Album of the Year for Wildcard. Combs will contend in six categories (twice for Song of the Year for “Even Though I’m Leaving” and “I Hope You’re Happy Now”) as will Morris in five categories, including two bids for Musical Event of the Year for “The Bones” and “Fooled Around Fell In Love.”

The 2020 CMA Awards will broadcast live on ABC on November 11. The show will be held in Nashville, but the exact venue has yet to be announced.

Here is the nominees list (with WINNERS in BOLD updated Wed., Nov. 11 at 11:10pm):

Entertainer of the Year
  • Eric Church – WINNER
  • Luke Combs
  • Miranda Lambert
  • Carrie Underwood
  • Keith Urban
Male Vocalist of the Year
  • Eric Church
  • Luke Combs – WINNER
  • Thomas Rhett
  • Chris Stapleton
  • Keith Urban
Female Vocalist of the Year
  • Miranda Lambert
  • Ashley McBryde
  • Maren Morris – WINNER
  • Kacey Musgraves
  • Carrie Underwood

Album of the Year

  • Heartache Medication – Jon Pardi – Producer(s): Bart Butler, Ryan Gore, Jon Pardi
  • What You See Is What You Get – Luke Combs – Producer: Scott Moffatt – WINNER
  • Never Will – Ashley McBryde – Producer(s): Jay Joyce, John Peets
  • Old Dominion – Old Dominion – Producer(s): Shane McAnally, Old Dominion
  • Wildcard – Miranda Lambert – Producer(s): Jay Joyce
Vocal Group of the Year
  • Lady A
  • Little Big Town
  • Midland
  • Old Dominion – WINNER
  • Rascal Flatts
Vocal Duo of the Year
  • Brooks & Dunn
  • Brothers Osborne
  • Dan + Shay – WINNER
  • Florida Georgia Line
  • Maddie & Tae
Single of the Year
  • “10,000 Hours” – Dan + Shay (with Justin Bieber)
  • “Beer Never Broke My Heart” – Luke Combs
  • “Bluebird” – Miranda Lambert
  • “The Bones” – Maren Morris – WINNER
  • “I Hope” – Gabby Barrett
Song of the Year
  • “Bluebird” – Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby, Miranda Lambert
  • “The Bones” – Maren Morris, Jimmy Robbins, Laura Veltz – WINNER
  • “Even Though I’m Leaving” – Luke Combs, Wyatt B. Durrette III, Ray Fulcher
  • “I Hope You’re Happy Now” – Luke Combs, Randy Montana, Carly Pearce, Jonathan Singleton
  • “More Hearts Than Mine” – Ingrid Andress, Sam Ellis, Derrick Southerland
Music Video of the Year
  • “10,000 Hours” – Dan + Shay (with Justin Bieber)
  • “Bluebird” – Miranda Lambert – WINNER
  • “Homemade” – Jake Owen
  • “I Hope You’re Happy Now” – Carly Pearce and Lee Brice
  • “Second One to Know” – Chris Stapleton
Music Event of the Year
  • “10,000 Hours” – Dan + Shay (with Justin Bieber)
  • “Be a Light” – Thomas Rhett featuring Reba McEntire, Hillary Scott, Chris Tomlin, Keith Urban
  • “The Bones” – Maren Morris with Hozier
  • “Fooled Around and Fell in Love” – Miranda Lambert (feat. Maren Morris, Elle King, Ashley McBryde, Tenille Townes & Caylee Hammack)
  • “I Hope You’re Happy Now” – Carly Pearce and Lee Brice – WINNER
Musician of the Year
  • Jenee Fleenor, fiddle – WINNER
  • Paul Franklin, steel guitar
  • Rob McNelley, guitar
  • Ilya Toshinskiy, guitar
  • Derek Wells, guitar


Recommended for you