Country Chatter

ACM Honors Lambert, Wallen, Stapleton and more


The ACM – Academy of Country Music announced the Special Awards for the 57th Academy of Country Music Awards. The honorees will be celebrated during the upcoming 15th Annual ACM Honors, which is set to take place on Wednesday, August 24, 2022, at Nashville’s historic Ryman Auditorium.

Miranda Lambert, Morgan Wallen, Chris Stapleton, Shania Twain and more were among honorees announced (see full list below).

Described as “Country Music Industry’s favorite night,” the ACM honors event will feature an evening of live music and tribute performances as the artists receive their awards.

“ACM Honors is truly a special and unique night as the entire Country Music community comes together to celebrate the achievements of artists, musicians, and industry executives that have made a positive impact on the industry during the prior year or over their careers,” Academy of Country Music CEO Damon Whiteside shared. “Being the 15th anniversary of this event also makes it a night to remember some of the Academy’s pioneers who originally inspired these honors.”

Performers, host, and ticket on-sale information for the ACM Honors event will be announced in the coming weeks.

ACM Special Award honorees include:


Lambert earned the Triple Crown Award after winning ACM Top New Female Vocalist, ACM Female Vocalist of the Year, and ACM Entertainer of the Year throughout her career, an honor only seven other artists have been achieved.

ACM ICON AWARD – Connie Bradley

The award is presented to a Country Music artist, duo/group or industry leader who, throughout their career, has advanced the popularity of the genre through their contributions in multiple facets of the industry, such as songwriting, recording, production, touring, film, television, literary works, philanthropic contributions, and other goodwill efforts.

ACM LIFTING LIVES AWARD – Paul Barnabee and Dwight Wiles

The award is presented to a Country Music artist, duo/group, or industry professional who is devoted to improving lives through the power of music, has a generosity of spirit, and is committed to serving others. It is voted on by the ACM Lifting Lives Board of Directors.


The award is presented to a Country Music artist, duo/group or industry leader for a specific, unprecedented or outstanding achievement in the field of Country Music during the preceding calendar year.


The award is presented to an outstanding Country Music artist, duo/group, or industry leader in recognition of years of dedication and service to the Academy of Country Music.

ACM SPIRIT AWARD – Chris Stapleton

The award is presented to a singer-songwriter who is continuing the legacy of Country Music legend Merle Haggard by following his/her own path, crafting great songs, and epitomizing Haggard’s spirit through genuine performances and great storytelling.

ACM POET’S AWARD – Sonny Throckmorton and Shania Twain

The award is presented to a Country Music songwriter for outstanding and longstanding musical and/or lyrical contributions throughout their career, with special consideration given to a song or songs’ impact on the culture of Country Music.

ACM FILM AWARD – Yellowstone

The award recognizes an outstanding television movie, series, or feature film released during the preceding calendar year which features Country Music.


The award is presented to an individual known predominately as a songwriter, selected by a panel of judges composed of songwriters, publishers, producers, and performing rights organization (PRO) representatives.


Recommended for you