Country Chatter

Miranda Lambert Leads List of CMA Award Nominees


Nominations for the 51st CMA Awards were announced this morning on Good Morning America with Miranda Lambert, Keith Urban and Little Big Town topping the list.

Lambert, whose double album The Weight of These Wings was released shortly after the CMA Awards in 2016, received five nominations in categories including Album of the Year, Song of the Year, Music Video of the Year, Female Vocalist of the Year and Single of the Year.

Keith Urban and reigning Vocal Group of the Year Little Big Town are tied with four nominations each, with Urban again earning a spot in the Entertainer of the Year category for a second year in a row. Little Big Town’s nominations include one for Album of the Year for The Breaker.

Some rising country acts found themselves on the list for the first time including Jon Pardi who was recognized in two categories, and Luke Combs, Brett Young, Lauren Alaina and LoCash each earning one. Most surprisingly, Americana artist Jason Isbell received his first-ever CMA nomination in the Album of the Year category for The Nashville Sound.

The CMA awards show will be hosted by Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood live from the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville on November 8 on ABC.

Here’s a list of the nominees in all musical categories.

Entertainer of the Year
Garth Brooks
Luke Bryan
Eric Church
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Female Vocalist
Kelsea Ballerini
Miranda Lambert
Reba McEntire
Maren Morris
Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist
Dierks Bentley
Eric Church
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Vocal Group
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Old Dominion
Rascal Flatts
Zac Brown Band

Vocal Duo
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae
Brothers Osborne

New Artist
Luke Combs
Old Dominion
Jon Pardi
Brett Young
Lauren Alaina

Single of the Year
“Better Man,” Little Big Town
“Blue Ain’t Your Color,” Keith Urban
“Body Like a Back Road,” Sam Hunt
“Dirt on My Boots,” Jon Pardi
“Tin Man,” Miranda Lambert

Album of the Year
The Breaker, Little Big Town
From a Room: Volume 1, Chris Stapleton
Heart Break, Lady Antebellum
The Nashville Sound, Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit
The Weight of These Wings, Miranda Lambert

Song of the Year
(Award goes to songwriters)
“Better Man,” Taylor Swift
“Blue Ain’t Your Color,” Clint Lagerberg, Hillary Lindsey, Steven Olsen
“Body Like a Back Road,” Zach Crowell, Sam Hunt, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne
“Dirt on My Boots,” Rhett Akins, Jesse Frasure, Ashley Gorley
“Tin Man,” Jack Ingram, Miranda Lambert, Jon Randall

Music Video
“Better Man,” Little Big Town
“Blue Ain’t Your Color,” Keith Urban
“Craving You,” Thomas Rhett (featuring. Maren Morris)
“Vice,” Miranda Lambert
“It Ain’t My Fault,” Brothers Osborne

Musical Event
“Craving You,” Thomas Rhett (featuring Maren Morris)
“Funny How Time Slips Away,” Glen Campbell with Willie Nelson
“Kill a Word,” Eric Church (featuring Rhiannon Giddens)
“Setting the World on Fire,” Kenny Chesney (with P!nk)
“Speak to a Girl,” Tim McGraw and Faith Hill

Jerry Douglas (Dobro)
Paul Franklin (Steel Guitar)
Dann Huff (Guitar)
Mac McAnally (Guitar)
Derek Wells (Guitar)

Recommended for you