Music Reviews

Wynonna Judd – Wynonna & The Big Noise


Wynonna Judd has done the solo project before. In 1992, she won the ACM Female Vocalist of the Year Award and her work was nominated for several Grammy’s.  Her solo debut garnered number one hits and brought her attention from critics and fans, alike.

Now, with Wynonna & The Big Noise, she starts a new chapter in her long and illustrious career. The album marks her first release in seven years, and the first with original material in thirteen years. The album is set to be released by her long-time label, Curb Records on February 12th.

The album is a departure from the mainstream and radio friendly country music with which she has always been associated.  Instead, the rootsy soul music cuts to the bone of her emotions. The Travis Meadows and Daniel Sanders penned tune, “Things I Lean On,” is a reminder of the support needed when someone is making life changes.

Much of the change is due to Wynonna’s own life, and her marriage to Cactus Moser, who not only wrote two of the albums songs, but produced it, as well.  Moser, also is the drummer for The Big Noise, despite having his left leg amputated above the knee after a 2012 motorcycle accident.

The album also includes, “Ain’t No Thing,” co-written by Chris Stapleton and featuring Susan Tedeschi.  The bluesy rock song is one of my favorites and lets Wynonna work her vocal skills on lyrics like, “If I even cry at all, that would be a crying shame. The sky ain’t gonna fall baby, you know it ain’t no thing.”

The beautiful song, “Jesus And A Jukebox,” is probably one of the most mainstream ballads on the album.  It features, Jason Isbell, who also lends his vocals on “Things That I Lean On.”

Another track that is reminiscent of Judd’s own life is “Every Ending (Is A New Beginning).” The song was also co-written by Judd and Moser, Doug Johnson and Billy Montana.

Moser also adds his vocals to  “You Make My Heart Beat Too Fast.”

The rest of album includes songs written or co-written by  Julie Miller, Raphael Saddiq, David Lee Murphy, Kevin Welch and even the Eagles bassist-singer Timothy B. Schmit. With vocals featuring Tedeschi, Isbell, Moser, Derek Trucks and Schmit.

Wynonna & The Big Noise track listing:

  1. “Ain’t No Thing” feat. Susan Tedeschi (John Scott Sherrill, Chris Stapleton)
  2. “Cool Ya” (Lisa Carver, Andrew Ripp)
  3. “Things I Lean On” feat. Jason Isbell (Travis Meadows, Daniel Sanders)
  4. “You Make My Heart Beat Too Fast” feat. Cactus Moser (Julie Miller)
  5. “Staying In Love” (Rapheal Saadiq)
  6. “Keeps Me Alive” feat. Derek Trucks (Sarah Siskind)
  7. “Jesus And A Jukebox” (Travis Meadows, Jeremy Spillman, David Tolliver)
  8. “I Can See Everything” feat. Timothy B. Schmit (Timothy B. Schmit)
  9. “Something You Can’t Live Without” (David Lee Murphy, Cactus Moser)
  10. “You Are So Beautiful” (Ashley Warren, Cactus Moser)
  11. “Every Ending (Is A New Beginning)” (Doug Johnson, Billy Montana, Wynonna, Cactus Moser)
  12. “Choose To Believe” (Charlie White, Kevin Welch)