Music News

Mark Chesnutt to Release New Album ‘Tradition Lives’ July 8th


Mark Chesnutt is ready to release his 15th studio album, Tradition Lives, on July 8th.  The album is Chesnutt’s first album since 2010 and will give fans more of the traditional country music that the singer has been known for since his first hit in 1990, “Too Cold at Home.” The 12-track project was produced by Jimmy Ritchey and includes a bonus 13th track, called “There Won’t Be Another Now,” that is a tribute to the the late country icon Merle Haggard.

A few years back, Jimmy Ritchey and I were at his home studio at about 2:00am, talking about ‘the Hag’ and his influence on us, and we thought it would be nice to add this song to the album as a tribute to him and to Red Lane,” Chesnutt explains in a press release. “It’s just me with Jimmy on guitar. I hope fans enjoy it.”

Chesnutt admits that at this point in his career, Ritchey — who has produced multiple albums for the country star since the mid-2000s — is key in his traditional sound.

He and I hooked up at a time when not a lot of people had a lot of faith in me anymore because I stayed ‘country’ when the industry was going the other way,” Chesnutt says of Ritchey. “I needed somebody like Jimmy who really believed in my kind of country music.”

A full track listing for Tradition Lives can be seen below. More information about Chesnutt, including his upcoming tour dates can be found on his website

Mark Chesnutt, Tradition Lives Track Listing:

1. “I’ve Got a Quarter in My Pocket”
2. “Is It Still Cheating”
3. “Lonely Ain’t the Only Game in Town”
4. “Oughta Miss Me By Now”
5. “Neither Did I”
6. “So You Can’t Hurt Me Anymore”
7. “You Moved Up in Your World”
8. “Look at Me Now”
9. “Losing You All Over Again”
10. “Never Been to Texas”
11. “What I Heard”
12. “Hot”

Bonus: 13. “There Won’t Be Another Now”

Here is a video from the first single off of Tradition Lives, “Oughta Miss Me By Now.”