Concert News

Lee Ann Womack to Release New Album and Perform at KSU


Lee Ann Womack will be making her ATO Records debut with the release of The Lonely, the Lonesome & the Gone this fall. The singer-songwriter will also be launching a tour in support of the new album that will include a date at The Performing Arts Center at Kent State – Tuscarawas on Tuesday, January 23.

The Lonely, the Lonesome & the Gone, is produced by Womack’s husband, Frank Liddell and relies heavily on the influences of the East Texas singer’s roots. She co-wrote many of the 14-tracks on the new album which include country blended with soul, gospel and blues. Womack recently released the bluesy “All the Trouble,” which she penned with Waylon Payne and Adam Wright. (Listen to the song below).

“I wanted to get out of Nashville and tap the deep music and vibe of East Texas,” says Womack in a press release. “I wanted to make sure this record had a lot of soul in it, because real country music has soul. I wanted to remind people of that.”

The Lonely, the Lonesome & the Gone had the majority of the tracks recorded in the iconic SugarHill Studios in Houston, Texas. Formerly Gold Star Studios, SugarHill Studios is the same location where George Jones recorded “Take the Devil Out of Me,” and as a tribute, Womack covered that song for her album.

Lee Ann Womack will be performing at The performing Arts Center at Kent State University – Tuscarawas in New Philadelphia, Ohio on Tuesday, January 23, 2018 at 7:30pm. Tickets for the show are $48-$71 and are available at

Lee Ann Womack, The Lonely, the Lonesome & the Gone Track Listing:

1. “All the Trouble”
2. “The Lonely, the Lonesome & the Gone”
3. “He Called Me Baby”
4. “Hollywood”
5. “End of the End of the World”
6. “Bottom of the Barrel”
7. “Shine on Rainy Day”
8. “Mama Lost Her Smile”
9. “Wicked”
10. “Long Black Veil”
11. “Someone Else’s Heartache”
12. “Sunday”
13. “Talking Behind Your Back”
14. “Take the Devil Out of Me”